Candidates for the 2019 Dáil By-Elections: An Overview

Adrian Kavanagh, 12th September 2019

In the May 2019 European Elections Deputies Clare Daly and Frances Fitzgerald won seats in the Dublin constituency, while Deputies Mick Wallace and Billy Kelleher won seats in the South constituency. This means that their seats in the Dublin Fingal, Dublin Mid-West, Wexford and Cork North-Central Dáil constituencies are now vacant and must be filled by a by-election in each of these constituencies before the end of this year, unless a General Election is called in the intervening period.

In this post, I will be detailing the names of the candidates who have been selected to contest the Dáil by-elections in these constituencies

Currently there are thirty candidates listed here – twelve are female (40.0%) and eighteen are male (60.0%). This list includes three Senators (10.0%) and eighteen City/County Councillors (60.0%), including three former Dáil deputies.

As and when new candidates are confirmed between now and these elections – and as soon as possible after I become aware of this information – I will be updating this post to include their names.

Any links that are provided here will be solely to newspaper/media coverage that “prove” that a certain candidate has been selected. There will be no direct links to candidate home pages and other social media accounts, as well as to political party home pages.

As far as I can glean, Kellie Sweeney (as of now) is the youngest candidate contesting these by-election contests. Seven of the currently selected/declared candidates (23.3%) could be classified as “young(er)” candidates – i.e. aged between 18 and 35, including Kellie Sweeney, Peter Kavanagh, Emer Higgins and Shane Moynihan (all of whom are contesting Dublin Mid West), as well as Padraig O’Sullivan, Sinéad Halpin and Fiona Ryan (Cork North-Central).

Cork North-Central:

Fine Gael: Senator Colm Burke

Fianna Fáil: Cllr. Padraig O’Sullivan

Sinn Féin: Cllr. Thomas Gould

Labour Party: Cllr. John Maher

Green Party: Cllr. Oliver Moran

Social Democrats: Sinéad Halpin

People Before Profit: 

Solidarity: Cllr. Fiona Ryan


Workers Party: 



Dublin Mid-West:

Fine Gael: Cllr. Emer Higgins

Fianna Fáil: Cllr. Shane Moynihan

Sinn Féin: Cllr. Mark Ward

Labour Party: Cllr. Joanna Tuffy

Green Party: Cllr. Peter Kavanagh

Social Democrats: Anne-Marie McNally

People Before Profit: Kellie Sweeney


Aontú: Edward McManus

Workers Party: 


Independents/Others: Cllr. Paul Gogarty, Cllr. Francis Timmons

Dublin Fingal:

Fine Gael: Senator James Reilly

Fianna Fáil: Senator Lorraine Clifford-Lee

Sinn Féin: Cllr. Ann Graves

Labour Party: Cllr. Duncan Smith

Green Party: Cllr. Joe O’Brien

Social Democrats: Tracey Carey

People Before Profit: 



Workers Party: 




Fine Gael: Verona Murphy

Fianna Fáil: Cllr. Malcolm Byrne

Sinn Féin: Johnny Mythen

Labour Party: Cllr. George Lawlor

Green Party: 

Social Democrats:

People Before Profit: 


Aontú: Cllr. Jim Codd

Workers Party: 


Irish Freedom Party: Melissa O’Neill



About Adrian Kavanagh

Lecturer at the Maynooth University Department of Geography. Email:
This entry was posted in by-election, Candidates, Dublin, Gender, Leinster, Munster and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s