Selected/Declared Candidates for the Dublin Bay South By-Election (8th July 2021)

Adrian Kavanagh, 15th June 2021

This post will list all the officially selected/declared candidates for the upcoming Dublin Bay South by-election, which will take place on Thursday 8th July 2021.

As of this point in time, 15 candidates have been selected to contest the Dublin Bay South by-election and 9 (60.0%) of these are women and 6 (40.0%) are men.

5 (33.3%) of the candidates currently hold electoral office – Cllrs. Claire Byrne, Mannix Flynn and James Geoghegan and Senators Ivana Bacik and Lynn Boylan – Lynn Boylan was also an MEP for Dublin between 2014 and 2019.

The list of selected/declared candidates for the Dublin Bay South by-election contest (with a more detailed/official listing available for these candidates now on the Dublin City Returning Officer webiste) includes:

Party/Grouping Candidate
Aontú Mairéad Tóibín
Fianna FáilCllr. Deirdre Conroy
Fine GaelCllr. James Geoghegan
Green PartyCllr. Claire Byrne
LabourSen. Ivana Bacik
National PartyJustin Barrett
People Before ProfitBrigid Purcell
Renua Jacqui Gilbourne
Sinn FéinSen. Lynn Boylan
Social DemoratsSarah Durcan
IndependentCllr. Mannix Flynn
Peter Dooley
John Dominic Keigher
Dolores Cahill
Colm O’Keeffe

About Adrian Kavanagh

Lecturer at the Maynooth University Department of Geography. Email:
This entry was posted in by-election, Candidates, Gender and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s