People Before Profit candidates for the 2019 Local Elections

Adrian Kavanagh, First posted 10th July 2013 (as a post for both Solidarity and People Before Profit candidates) – stand alone People Before Profit page created on 8th November – with updates as new candidate nominations announced. Any links in this post are to online announcements of candidate selections – there will be no specific links to candidate webpages.

The seventh of my series of rolling blog posts, in which I detail the latest information as to candidate selections relating to the different political parties and grouping and/or candidate declarations (as in the case of the non-party grouping).

The post will focus on the candidate selections for People Before Profit.

The rule of thumb here is that I will add party candidates in most cases only after they have been officially selected to run for the party  at a selection convention or by some other means of candidate selection. I try my best to find information about local election candidate selection conventions, but in some cases this information is hard to find and occasionally it can be some time after a convention takes place before I find this information and hence am in a position to update this page accordingly.

The post will focus on the candidate selections for People Before Profit.

In the 2014 Local Elections there were fourteen People Before Profit Alliance candidates elected. A number of defections in the years following the 2014 elections means that there are currently eleven People Before Profit City/County Councillors, according to my best estimates.

As of now there are forty five People Before Profit candidates listed on this page: twenty four of these are female (53.3%) and twenty one are male (46.7%).

The candidates that have been officially selected to contest the 2019 Local Elections as People Before Profit candidates include:

Candidates Seats People Before Profit candidates
Carlow 18
Carlow 7 Adrienne Wallace People Before Profit
Tullow 6 Alex O’Keeffe People Before Profit
Muinebeag 5
Cavan 18
Bailieborough-Cootehill 6
Ballyjamesduff 6
Cavan-Belturbert 6 Emmett Smith People Before Profit
Clare 28
Ennis 7
Killaloe 5
Shannon 7
Ennistimon 4
Kilrush 5
Cork County 55
Carrigaline 6
Bandon-Kinsale 6
Macroom 6
Cobh 6
Midleton 7
Fermoy 6
Kanturk 4
Mallow 5
Bantry 4
Clonakilty-Skibbereen 5 Vanessa O’Sullivan
Cork City 31
Cork City North East 6
Cork City North West 6
Cork City South Central 6
Cork City South East 6 Ed Fitzgerald People Before Profit
Cork City South West 7 Tjitske de Vries People Before Profit
Donegal 37  
Donegal 6 Cyril Brennan  People Before Profit
Glenties 6
Milford 3
Buncrana 5
Letterkenny 7 Finnian O’Donnell People Before Profit
Carndonagh 4
Lifford-Stranorlar 6
Dublin City 63  
Ballyfermot-Drimnagh 5 Cllr. Hazel de Nortuín People Before Profit
Ballymun-Finglas 6 Cllr. Andrew Keegan People Before Profit
Artane-Whitehall 6 Cllr. John Lyons People Before Profit
Donaghmede 5
Cabra-Glasnevin 7
Clontarf 6 Bernard Mulvany People Before Profit
Kimmage-Rathmines 6 Peter Dooley People Before Profit
North Inner City 7 Gillian Brien People Before Profit
South West Inner City 5 Cllr. Tina MacVeigh People before Profit
South East Inner City 5 Annette Mooney People Before Profit
Pembroke 5
Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown 40  
Blackrock 6 Lola Hynes People Before Profit
Dun Laoghaire 7 Cllr. Melissa Halpin People Before ProfitCllr. Dave O’Keeffe People Before Profit
Dundrum 7 Eoghan Ó Ceannabháin People Before Profit
Glencullen-Sandyford 7
Killiney-Shankill 7 Cllr. Hugh Lewis People Before Profit, Danielle O’Rourke People Before Profit
Stillorgan 6 Rachel Prendergast Spollen People Before Profit
Fingal County 40  
Balbriggan 5 John Uwhumiakpor People Before Profit
Rush Lusk 5
Castleknock 5
Howth-Malahide 7
Blanchardstown-Mulhuddart 6
Ongar 5
Swords 7
South Dublin County 40  
Clondalkin 7 Kevin Creagh People Before Profit
Palmerstown-Fonthill 5 Cllr. Madeleine Johansson People Before Profit 
Lucan 5 Kelly Marie Sweeney People Before Profit
Tallaght Central 6 Laura O’Reilly People Before Profit
Tallaght South 5 Cllr. Emma Hendrick People Before Profit
Rathfarnham-Templeogue 7
Firhouse-Bohernabreena 5
Galway City 18  
Galway City Central 6 Joseph Loughnane People Before Profit
Galway City East 6
Galway City West 6
Galway County 39  
Athenry-Oranmore 7
Gort Kinvara 5
Ballinasloe 6
Conamara North 4
Conamara South 5
Loughrea 5
Tuam 7
Kerry 33  
Killarney 7
Listowel 6 Brian Finucane People Before Profit
An Daingean 3
Kenmare 6
Castleisland 4
Tralee 7 Bec Fahy People Before Profit
Kildare 40  
Athy 5
Celbridge 4
Leixlip 3
Maynooth 5
Clane 5
Kildare 5
Newbridge 6
Naas 7 Ashling Merriman People Before Profit
Kilkenny 24  
Castlecomer 6
Kilkenny 7 Stephanie Hanlon People Before Profit
Callan-Thomastown 6
Piltown 5
Laois 19  
Borris in Ossory-Mountmellick 6
Graiguecullen-Portarlington 6
Portlaoise 7
Leitrim 18
Ballinamore 6
Carrick-on-Shannon 6
Manorhamilton 6
Limerick 40  
Limerick City East 7
Limerick City North 7
Limerick City West 7
Adare-Rathkeale 6
Cappamore-Kilmallock 7
Newcastle West 6
Longford 18  
Ballymahon 6
Granard 5
Longford 7
Louth 29  
Ardee 6
Drogheda Urban 6
Drogheda Rural 4
Dundalk-Carlingford 6
Dundalk-South 7
Mayo 30  
Ballina 6
Castlebar 7 Joe Daly People Before Profit
Claremorris 6
Swinford 4
Belmullet 3
Westport 4
Meath 40  
Ashbourne 6
Kells 7
Laytown-Bettystown 7 William Lacey People Before Profit
Navan 7
Ratoath 7
Trim 6
Monaghan 18  
Ballybay-Clones 5
Carrickmacross-Castleblaney 6
Monaghan 7
Offaly 19  
Birr 6
Edenderry 6
Tullamore 7
Roscommon 18  
Athlone (Roscommon) 6
Boyle 6
Roscommon 6
Sligo 18  
Ballymote-Tobercurry 7
Sligo-Drumcliff 5 Nigel Gallagher People Before Profit
Sligo-Strandhill 6 Cllr. Gino O’Boyle People Before Profit
Tipperary 40  
Carrick-on-Suir 5
Cahir 4
Cashel-Tipperary 7
Clonmel 6
Nenagh 5
Newport 4
Roscrea-Templemore 4
Thurles 5
Waterford 32  
Waterford City East 6
Waterford City South 6
Tramore-Waterford City West 6 Una Dunphy People Before Profit
Portlaw-Kilmacthomas 5
Dungarvan 6
Lismore 3
Westmeath 20  
Athlone (Westmeath) 5
Moate 4
Mullingar 6
Kinnegad 5
Wexford 34  
Gorey 6 Cinnamon Blackmore People Before Profit
Kilmuckridge 4
Enniscorthy 6
New Ross 6 Susan Breen People Before Profit
Kilmore 5
Wexford 7 Cllr. Tony Walsh People Before Profit
Wicklow 32  
Arklow 6
Baltinglass 6
Bray East 4 Sharon Briggs People Before Profit
Bray West 4
Greystones 6 Pyper Ludlow People Before Profit
Wicklow 6

Susan Breen was selected as People Before Profit candidate for New Ross on 6th September 2018. The Carlow Live website (27th September 2018) reported that Adrienne Wallace (Carlow EA) and Stephanie Hanlon (Kilkenny EA) had both recently been selected as Peoplem Before Profit Alliance local election candidates. A number of People Before Profit candidates candidates were selected to contest electoral areas in Dún Laoghaire-Rathdown on 27th September 2018 (mainly in the Dún Laoghaire Dáil constituency area), while Rachael Prendergast-Spollen and Eoghan Ó Ceannabháin were confirmed as candidates for electoral areas in the other part of that county on 10th October 2018. On 4th October it was confirmed that Laura O’Reilly would be the People Before Profit candidate for Tallaght Central.


About Adrian Kavanagh

Lecturer at the Maynooth University Department of Geography. Email:
This entry was posted in Candidates, Candidates Local Elections 2019, local elections, Local Elections 2019 and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s