Fianna Fail candidate selections

Adrian Kavanagh – updated on 4th February 2011

Fianna Fail were definitely slower in getting their general election candidates into the field than Fine Gael and especially Labour, but now have all their constituency convention selections completed with 75 candidates in the field, down on the 106 FF candidates that contested General Election 2007.

Constituency   Fianna Fail
Carlow-Kilkenny 5 John McGuinness TD, Bobby Aylward TD, Cllr. Jennifer Murnane 
Cavan-Monaghan 5 Brendan Smith TD, Margaret Conlon TD 
Clare 4 Timmy Dooley TD, Dr. John Hillery 
Cork East 4 Michael Ahern TD, Cllr. Kevin O’Keeffe 
Cork North-Central 4 Billy Kelleher TD
Cork North-West 3 Michael Moynihan TD, Daithí Ó Donnabháin 
Cork South-Central 5 Michael Martin TD, Michael McGrath TD 
Cork South-West 3 Christy O’Sullivan TD, Sen. Dennis O’Donovan 
Donegal North-East 3 Cllr. Charlie McConalogue 
Donegal South-West 3 Mary Coughlan TD, Senator Brian Ó’Domhnaill 
Dublin Central 4 Cyprian Brady TD, Cllr. Mary Fitzpatrick 
Dublin Mid-West 4 John Curran TD 
Dublin North 4 Darragh O’Brien TD, Michael Kennedy TD 
Dublin North-Central 3 Sean Haughey TD 
Dublin North-East 3 Averil Power 
Dublin North-West 3 Pat Carey TD 
Dublin South 5 Sen. Maria Corrigan 
Dublin South-Central 5 Michael Mulcahy TD 
Dublin South-East 4 Chris Andrews TD 
Dublin South-West 4 Conor Lenihan TD, Charlie O’Connor TD 
Dublin West 4 Brian Lenihan TD. Cllr. David McGuinness 
Dun Laoghaire 4 Mary Hanafin TD, Barry Andrews TD 
Galway East 4 Michael Kitt TD, Michael F. Dolan 
Galway West 5 Eamonn O’Cuiv TD, Frank Fahey TD, Cllr. Michael Crowe
Kerry North-West Limerick 3 Tom McEllistrim TD 
Kerry South 3 John O’Donoghue TD 
Kildare North 4 Aine Brady TD, Michael Fitzpatrick TD
Kildare South 3 Sean Power TD, Sean O’Fearghaill TD
Laois-Offaly 5 John Moloney TD, Sean Fleming TD, Cllr. Barry Cowen 
Limerick City 4 Peter Power TD, Willie O’Dea TD
Limerick 3 Niall Collins TD 
Longford-Westmeath 4 Mary O’Rourke TD, Peter Kelly TD, Cllr. Robert Troy
Louth 5 Sen. James Carroll, Cllr. Declan Breathnach
Mayo 5 Dara Calleary TD, Lisa Chambers 
Meath East 3 Thomas Byrne TD, Cllr. Nick Killian 
Meath West 3 Johnny Brady TD, Cllr. Shane Cassells 
Roscommon-South Leitrim 3 Cllr. Gerry Kilraine, Ivan Connaughton 
Sligo-North Leitrim 3 Eamonn Scanlon TD, Sen. Marc McSharry
Tipperary North 3 Maire Hoctor TD 
Tipperary South 3 Martin Mansergh TD 
Waterford 4 Brendan Kenneally TD 
Wexford 5 Sean Connick TD, John Browne TD 
Wicklow 5 Dick Roche TD, Cllr. Pat Fitzgerald 

More information on the Fianna Fail candidates is available from their website


About Adrian Kavanagh

Lecturer at the Maynooth University Department of Geography. Email:
This entry was posted in Candidates, Constituency information, Election data and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Fianna Fail candidate selections

  1. Pingback: Anonymous

  2. Michael says:

    I count 74. Is this a record low no of candidates for FF since the 1930s?

  3. l lyons says:

    would you be able to put all the candidates togather so we could see FF FG LAB IND in one place

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s