Labour Party Local Area Representatives – and potential local election candidates?

Adrian Kavanagh,  First posted 4th July 2013 with updates as new details included

Just like Fianna Fail and Fine Gael, the Labour Party too has its own group of Local Area Representatives – mainly unelected party members that act as representatives of the party in their local area, with these areas usually coinciding with parts of the country in which the number of party elected representatives are relatively low (although there are some exceptions as in the cases of Elena Secas in Limerick City and Declan Meenagh in Dublin City. In fairness, the Labour Party website does well in allowing for a listing of these party Local Area Representatives to be created if you check though all of the party constituency pages, but I am not totally convinced that the listing here is an exhaustive one. 

Labour LARs
Carlow 10
Muinebeag 8
Bailieborough-Cootehill 6 Liam Hogan
Ballyjamesduff 6
Cavan-Belturbert 6 Mary Croke
Ennis 8
Killaloe 6
Shannon 6
West Clare 8
Cork County
Ballincollig-Carrigaline 10
Bandon-Kinsale 6
Blarney-Macrooom 6
Cobh 7
East Cork 6
Fermoy 6
Kanturk-Mallow 6
West Cork 8
Cork City
Cork City North Central 5
Cork City North East 4
Cork City North West 4
Cork City South Central 5
Cork City South East 7
Cork City South West 6
Donegal 6
Glenties 6
Letterkenny 10 Peter Cutliffe
Inishowen 9
Stranorlar 6
Dublin City
Ballyfermot-Drimnagh 7
Ballymun 7
Beaumont-Donaghmede 9
Cabra-Finglas 7 Declan Meenagh
Clontarf 6
Crumlin-Kimmage 6
North Inner City 7
Pembroke-South Dock 8
Rathgar-Rathmines 6
Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown
Blackrock 6
Dun Laoghaire 8
Dundrum 7
Glencullen-Sandyford 7
Killiney-Shankill 6
Stillorgan 6
Fingal County
Balbriggan 8 Deirdre Kilpatrick (LAR Balbriggan), Robert O’Donoghue (LAR Rush)
Castleknock 7
Howth-Malahide 8
Mulhuddart 8
Swords 9 Duncan Smith
South Dublin County
Clondalkin 8 Ken Kinsella (LAR Clondalkin/Bawnogue)
Lucan 8
Tallaght Central 6
Tallaght South 6
Templeogue Terenure 6
Rathfarnham 6
Galway City
Galway City Central 6
Galway City East 6
Galway City West 6
Galway County
Athenry-Oranmore 7
Ballinasloe 6
Conamara 9
Loughrea 8
Tuam 9
Killarney 8
Listowel 7
South and West Kerry 9
Tralee 9
Athy 6
Celbridge-Leixlip 7
Maynooth 9
Kildare-Newbridge 9
Naas 9
Castlecomer 6
Kilkenny City-East 6
Kilkenny City-West 6
Piltown 6
Borris in Ossory-Mountmellick 6
Graiguecullen-Portarlington 6
Portlaoise 7 Noel Tuohy
Ballinamore 6
Carrick-on-Shannon 6 John Feely
Manorhamilton 6
Limerick City East 8 Elena Secas
Limerick City North 6
Limerick City West 7
Adare-Rathkeale 6
Cappamore-Kilmallock 7
Newcastle West 6 Stephen Goulding
Ballymahon 6
Granard 6
Longford 6
Ardee 6
Drogheda 10
Dundalk-Carlingford 6
Dundalk-South 7
Ballina 8
Castlebar 8 Bernie Courtney
Claremorris 7
West Mayo 7 Jerry Cowley
Ashbourne 6
Kells 7
Laytown-Bettystown 7
Navan 7
Ratoath 7
Trim 6
Ballybay-Clones 6
Carrickmacross-Castleblaney 6 Ciaran Connolly, Peadar Markey
Monaghan 6
Birr 6
Edenderry 6
Tullamore 7
Athlone (Roscommon) 6
Boyle 6
Roscommon 6
Ballymote-Tubbercurry 8
Sligo 10
Carrick-on-Suir 6
Cashel-Tipperary 7
Clonmel 9
Nenagh 9
Templemore-Thurles 9
Waterford City East 6
Waterford City South 6
Tramore-Waterford City West 6
Comeragh 6
Dungarvan-Lismore 8
Athlone (Westmeath) 7
Mullingar-Coole 7
Mullingar-Kilbeggan 6
Gorey 8
Enniscorthy 8
New Ross 8
Wexford 10
Arklow 6
Baltinglass 6
Bray 8
Greystones 6
Wicklow 6

As this table shows, to date I have only identified sixteen Labour Party Local Area Representatives (I am of course excluding all local elected representatives here (City/County and Borough/Town Councillors), with most of these being based in the party’s weaker constituencies. There is a strong likelihood that most of these Local Area Representatives will be candidates in next May’s local elections, although they will face difficult prospects due to a combination of  traditionally low Labour Party support levels in their local areas and the party’s declining support levels in the national opinion polls. Twelve of the Labour LARs are male (75.0%) and four are female (25.0%).


About Adrian Kavanagh

Lecturer at the Maynooth University Department of Geography. Email:
This entry was posted in Dublin, local elections, Local Elections 2014 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s