Green Party candidates for the 2014 Local Elections

Adrian Kavanagh

First posted 1st July 2013 with updates as new candidate nominations announced. Any links in this post are to online announcements of candidate selections and are not specifically links to candidate webpages.

The first of my rolling blog posts in which I detailed the latest information as to candidate selections relating to the different political parties and grouping and/or candidate declarations (as in the case of the non-party grouping). The rule of thumb was that I would add party candidates only after they have been officially selected to run for the party at a selection convention or by some other means. The first post in the series outlined candidate selections for the Green Party.

The Green Party currently has two County Councillors and eleven Borough/Town Councillors (following the defection of Brian Meaney to Fianna Fail and Niamh Fitzgibbon to Fine Gael). After the party’s significant loss of local representation at the 2009 local election and its loss of all national representation at the 2011 General Election, a strong performance in the 2014 local elections will be vital in relation to the party’s rebuilding process after the fall out of its period in government between June 2007 and January 2011.

Forty seven officially selected 2014 Local Elections candidates for the Green Party across forty seven different conventions/electoral areas (34.3% of all electoral areas).  A significant proportion of these candidates (twenty one) are contesting local electoral areas in the Dublin region. This is down significantly on the seventy seven candidates who contested the 2009 City and County Council elections for the party, although the number of Green Party female candidates has only fallen by two. The party is not contesting a number of electoral areas in which it previously held seats, such as Muinebeag (includes the old Borris constituency), Naas and Lucan (although former Green Party TD/councillor Paul Gogarty is contesting Lucan as an independent candidate).

Female candidates account for fifteen of the Green Party candidates (31.9%) – in 2009 17 female candidates accounted for 22.1% of all the Green Party candidates in that election.

The party’s two sitting County Councillors, Marianne Butler and Malcolm Noonan, (who are also both Borough/Town Councillor), have been selected to contest the 2014 elections, as has Mark Dearey, who is currently a member of Dundalk Town Council and who won a seat in Dundalk South at the 2009 Local Elections before becoming a member of Seanad Eireann some time after that. Two other Town Councillors, Shane Fitzgerald (Celbridge-Leixlip) and Danny Forde (Wexford), are also contesting the election as noted below.

The list of Green Party candidates includes:

Candidates   Green Party
Carlow 10
Muinebeag 8
Bailieborough-Cootehill 6
Ballyjamesduff 6
Cavan-Belturbert 6
Ennis 8 Gerben JF Uunk
Killaloe 6
Shannon 6
West Clare 8 Kevin Heapes
Cork County
Ballincollig-Carrigaline 10 Cormac Manning
Bandon-Kinsale 6 Liz Dunphy
Blarney-Macrooom 6
Cobh 7
East Cork 6 Natasha Harty
Fermoy 6
Kanturk-Mallow 6
West Cork 8
Cork City
Cork City North Central 5
Cork City North East 4 Oliver Moran
Cork City North West 4
Cork City South Central 5 Johnny O’Mahony
Cork City South East 7 Dan Boyle
Cork City South West 6 Mick Murphy
Donegal 6
Glenties 6
Letterkenny 9
Inishowen 10
Stranorlar 6
Dublin City
Ballyfermot-Drimnagh 6 Oisín Ó Halmhain
Ballymun 7 Caroline Conroy
Beaumont-Donaghmede 9 Ian Smyth
Cabra-Finglas 7 Tom Duffy
Clontarf 6 Donna Cooney
Crumlin-Kimmage 6 Sandra Dunne
North Inner City 8 Ciaran Cuffe
Pembroke-South Dock 8 Claire Byrne
Rathgar-Rathmines 6 Patrick Costello
Dun Laoghaire-Rathdown
Blackrock 6 Celine Moorkens
Dun Laoghaire 8 Ossian Smyth
Dundrum 7 Catherine Martin
Glencullen-Sandyford 7 Tom Kivlehan
Killiney-Shankill 6 Cara Augustenborg
Stillorgan 6 Miriam Hennessy
Fingal County
Balbriggan 8 Joe O’Brien
Castleknock 7 Roderic O’Gorman
Howth-Malahide 8 David Healy
Mulhuddart 8
Swords 9 Ken Duffy
South Dublin County
Clondalkin 8
Lucan 8
Tallaght Central 6
Tallaght South 6
Templeogue Terenure 6 Suzanne McEneaney 
Rathfarnham 6 Francis Noel Duffy
Galway City
Galway City Central 6 Seamus Sheridan
Galway City East 6
Galway City West 6
Galway County
Athenry-Oranmore 7
Ballinasloe 6
Conamara 9
Loughrea 8
Tuam 9
Killarney 8
Listowel 7
South and West Kerry 9
Tralee 9
Athy 6
Celbridge-Leixlip 7 Shane Fitzgerald
Maynooth 9
Kildare-Newbridge 9
Naas 9
Castlecomer 6
Kilkenny City-East 6 Rian Coulter
Kilkenny City-West 6 Malcolm Noonan
Piltown 6
Borris in Ossory-Mountmellick 6
Graiguecullen-Portarlington 6
Portlaoise 7
Ballinamore 6
Carrick-on-Shannon 6
Manorhamilton 6
Limerick City East 8
Limerick City North 6
Limerick City West 7
Adare-Rathkeale 6
Cappamore-Kilmallock 7
Newcastle West 6
Ballymahon 6
Granard 6
Longford 6
Ardee 6
Drogheda 10 Michael McKeon
Dundalk-Carlingford 6 Mark Dearey
Dundalk-South 7 Marianne Butler
Ballina 8
Castlebar 8
Claremorris 7 Mags Sheehan
West Mayo 7 Caroline Fitzgerald
Ashbourne 6
Kells 7
Laytown-Bettystown 7
Navan 7
Ratoath 7 Sean O Buachalla
Trim 6
Ballybay-Clones 6 Raimonda Leonaviciene
Carrickmacross-Castleblaney 6
Monaghan 6 Grazvydas Vaitekunas
Birr 6
Edenderry 6
Tullamore 7 Richard Brennan
Athlone (Roscommon) 6
Boyle 6
Roscommon 6
Ballymote-Tubbercurry 8
Sligo 10
Carrick-on-Suir 6
Cashel-Tipperary 7
Clonmel 9
Nenagh 9
Templemore-Thurles 9
Waterford City East 6
Waterford City South 6
Tramore-Waterford City West 6
Comeragh 6
Dungarvan-Lismore 8
Athlone (Westmeath) 7
Mullingar-Coole 7
Mullingar-Kilbeggan 6
Gorey 8
Enniscorthy 8
New Ross 8
Wexford 10 Danny Forde
Arklow 6
Baltinglass 6
Bray 8 Steve Matthews
Greystones 6 Niall Byrne
Wicklow 6 Paul Leahy

Charlie Ridgway was initially selected to contest Pembroke-South Dock, but has withdrawn from the contest and Claire Byrne will now be the Green Party candidate for that electoral area.

Many thanks to Roderic O’Gorman, as well as to the Green Party headquarters and Marianne Butler, for providing a number of these Green Party candidate selection details.


About Adrian Kavanagh

Lecturer at the Maynooth University Department of Geography. Email:
This entry was posted in Candidates, Candidates Local Elections 2014, local elections, Local Elections 2014 and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Green Party candidates for the 2014 Local Elections

  1. Pingback: Selection Convention Results thread

  2. Pingback: Perspectives on the Ballybay-Clones electoral area | Irish Elections: Geography, Facts and Analyses

  3. Pingback: Back to the Future? The Green (Party) shoots of recovery | Irish Elections: Geography, Facts and Analyses

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s