Labour candidate selections

Adrian Kavanagh – updated on 27th January 2011

The list of officially selected Labour candidates, to the best of my knowledge are as follows (list will be updated with news of further selections):

Constituency Labour
Carlow-Kilkenny Cllr. Ann Phelan, Cllr. Des Hurley
Cavan-Monaghan Liam Hogan
Clare Michael McNamara
Cork East Sean Sherlock TD, Cllr. John Mulvihill
Cork North-Central Kathleen Lynch TD, Cllr. John Gilroy
Cork North-West Cllr. Martin Coughlan
Cork South-Central Ciaran Lynch TD, Cllr. Paula Desmond
Cork South-West Sen. Michael McCarthy
Donegal North-East Cllr. Jimmy Harte
Donegal South-West Cllr. Frank McBrearty
Dublin Central Joe Costello TD, Cllr. Aine Clancy
Dublin Mid-West Joanna Tuffy TD, Cllr. Robery Dowds
Dublin North Sen. Brendan Ryan, Cllr. Tom Kelleher
Dublin North-Central Cllr. Aodhan O’Riordan
Dublin North-East Tommy Broughan TD, Cllr. Sean Kenny
Dublin North-West Roisin Shortall TD, Cllr. John Lyons
Dublin South Sen. Alex White, Cllr. Aidan Culhane
Dublin South-Central Cllr. Eric Byrne, Cllr. Michael Conaghan, Cllr. Henry Upton
Dublin South-East Ruairi Quinn TD, Cllr. Kevin Humphries
Dublin South-West Pat Rabbitte TD, Cllr. Eamonn Maloney
Dublin West Joan Burton TD, Cllr. Patrick Nulty
Dun Laoghaire Eamonn Gilmore TD, Sen. Ivana Bacik
Galway East Cllr. Colm Keaveney, Lorraine Higgins
Galway West Cllr. Derek Nolan
Kerry North-West Limerick Cllr. Arthur Spring
Kerry South Cllr. Marie Moloney
Kildare North Emmett Stagg TD, Cllr. John McGinley
Kildare South Jack Wall TD
Laois-Offaly John Whelan
Limerick City Jan O’Sullivan TD, Cllr. Joe Leddin
Limerick Cllr. James Heffernan
Longford-Westmeath Willie Penrose TD, Cllr. Mae Sexton
Louth Cllr. Ged Nash, Mary Moran
Mayo Jerry Cowley
Meath East Sen. Dominic Hannigan
Meath West Cllr. Jenny McHugh
Roscommon-South Leitrim Cllr. John Kelly
Sligo-North Leitrim Susan O’Keeffe
Tipperary North Alan Kelly MEP
Tipperary South Sen. Phil Prendergast
Waterford Cllr. Seamus Ryan, Ciara Conway TC 
Wexford Brendan Howlin TD, Cllr. Pat Cody
Wicklow Anne Ferris, Cllr. Conall Kavanagh, Cllr. Tom Fortune

More information on the Labour Party candidates is available from their website


About Adrian Kavanagh

Lecturer at the Maynooth University Department of Geography. Email:
This entry was posted in Candidates, Constituency information, Election data and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Labour candidate selections

  1. Nancy Burns says:

    Alan Kelly has declared for Tipperary North.

  2. Ian says:

    Brian O Shea was selected in waterford

  3. Suppose I’m cheating here a bit Ian; just including these two as these are cases where the Labour party is planning to only put one candidate before the selection convention, i.e. the selection “seems” to be a foregone conclusion…

  4. Ian says:

    Lorraine Higgins also added in Galway East

  5. Ian says:

    No idea – just going by Eamn Gilmores press release today

    I think going by google that her background is in law

  6. According to the Galway Advertiser webpage, Lorraine is “an Athenry-based barrister who ran as an independent candidate in the 2009 Local Elections”. Very interesting selection….

  7. Ian says:

    Jack Wall has been selected as well

    Meath West, Tipp North and Cavan Monaghan are all this week and I assume (Given Gilmores announcement of 70ish candidates yesterday) there will also be more candidates in various constituencies who will be added on

  8. Ian says:

    Cllr Jenny McHugh selected last night in Meath West

  9. Ian says:

    Labour websiteand Fionan Sheahan in todays Indo both list Patrick Nulty as a candidate for Dublin West

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s